Experiencing Native Americans

So, this is where I start off with the cute little “I don’t mean any offense” statement.

Next comes the first sentence. Which will go as follows:

My Native American Experience class is a joke.

I kid you not. It’s ridiculous, and I for the first time in my life, have experienced feelings of guilt for being white.

Note to self: I am not responsible for cutting down trees, stealing land, and breaking treaties that were made with the Indians 40 bajillion years ago.

I can understand them wanting to keep with their traditions, and culture. That’s cool. I can deal with that…it’s good for them. What I have a hard time understanding, is why they choose to live in the past and blame their present conditions on white people. In most situations, this causes their children to suffer, and grow up in poverty.

I had an exam today, and I could not for the life of me remember what GLIFWC stands for. I just googled it. GLIFWC is the Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission. darn it. But now we know. I also could not remember 1 of the 4 ritual spices or whatever…. they are Sage, Cedar, Tobacco…and dumb ol’ sweetgrass. Who remembers sweetgrass?!?!?!? Apparently, not me.

So you have now heard only a portion of my usual daily rants on this class. My professor yells at us as about stuff that doesn’t even matter. When I say “yell” I mean YELL. eek! It’s moderately stressful.

And that is all. other than that, college is a dream.

Stay Stellar


One response to “Experiencing Native Americans

  1. Haha, this is great…and you offend me white sister…for I am native…hahhahhhahaa ……HA

Leave a Reply

